1 reply to this topic

#1 Rattorn

Rattorn

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 July 2016 - 05:29 PM

Hi guys!

I am originally from Thailand. I am currently studying towards a Master's degree at Monash (Feb 2016 - Dec 2017). I met my American husband (then-boyfriend) in July 2015 in Thailand. He was doing his diving instructor course there. We started dating pretty much straight away after we first met. Things became serious between us rather quickly, but then I decided to come here for a Master's. When I submitted my student visa application, I did not include my now-husband's name in my initial application as we were not family members during the time. After I left Thailand, my husband found a job in Hawaii and has been there since. I went to visit him in Hawaii from May 26th, 2016 to July 21st, 2016. We got married there on June 30th. Now I want to bring him over to Australia under student dependent visa subclass 573. I am very worried as we have only been married for one month and we don't have a lot of proofs to show that we have cohabited in Thailand (the company he dived with paid for his rent). We did one overseas trip together to Cambodia and I did visit him in Hawaii for two months, but that's about it. I have about 100,000 AUD in my Oz account and he has about 40,000USD in his. Our future plan is to go back to Thailand as I have to take care of my family's businesses. It's a year and a half until I'm finished with my course so bringing him over to Australia will help us out a lot financially as we will get to split bills and not have to worry about saving up for small trips to see each other. Do we stand a chance at all? Anyone in a similar situation as ours? T_T

#2 Proxy Migration

Proxy Migration

Sponsor

• Sponsors
  • PipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 30 July 2016 - 11:23 PM

Hi Rattorn