1 reply to this topic

#1 Marta13

Marta13

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 August 2016 - 10:28 PM

Hey everyone,
I was wondering if any of you could help clear some things up for me.
I am a 20 year old female from Croatia and Im currently studying History and Philosophy( almost finished my first year).
Unfortunately i feel like thats not what im supposed to be studying and I really wanna change courses.
Ive been to Australia a month ago on a tourist visa just to visit a friend and her family and I feel in love with it. Ive been researching courses and I found a TAFE course in Tourism (certificate III) and i would really like to start studying there next year in July.
The friend I visited last month is moving to Sydney and Id be moving in with her to share expenses while studying.
What i wanna know is; what are my chances for a Visa? I understand its been really hard to get it lately.
What concerns me is that the course I wanna do isnt connected to my studies ( id probably quit UNI and just pursue a career in Tourism instead as its hard to get work with a bachleor in History and Philosophy), and I understand that could be a problem but since Id be doing a certificate III (later on a Diploma possibly) do you think Id have issues with getting the visa?
If anyone could offer any advice it'd be much appreciated, 

Thank you,
Marta

#2 Proxy Migration

Proxy Migration

Sponsor

• Sponsors
  • PipPipPip
  • 123 posts

Posted 20 September 2016 - 10:48 AM

Hi Marta 

The Department of Immigration and Border Protection will look at whether you genuinely intend to be in Australia temporarily (while you're studying) and then intend to go back to Croatia. Where a course of study is completely unrelated to previous studies or employment, the Department may become suspicious as to whether you are genuinely coming here to study (or if you are rather trying to move here permanently).