Solotravel

If I Marry A Thai Girl Can She Bring Her Son To Australia Too?

Hi Guys, 

I am a newbie here, thanks for having me on board. I was reading this forum last night. I see that men can bring a Thai girl back to Australia permanently if they marry them in Thailand. Is it also possible for a Thai girl to bring her Thai son to live permanently in Australia when married to an Australian man?

Thank you, I look forward to any replies. 

Hi Solotravel

Generally, yes - as long as the child is under 18 and the father gives his permission (if he is in the picture). In some circumstances older children can be sponsored too.

As for the marriage aspect, it's not the marriage that is crucial but rather whether you can show a genuine serious relationship. Depending on how long you have been together you may be better off applying for a Prospective Marriage Visa (aka 'fiance visa') and getting married in Australia. 

Kind regards

Lisa

Disclaimer: This message is general in nature and is not intended to constitute migration or legal advice. 

I think you are more interested in my replies.. You should mind your own business. 

Neha,

This is a public forum, so its everyones business.  Aussie_83 was simply correcting an inaccuracy, so others are not mis-informed.  He is doing you a favour.

You are wrong.. thanks for the information, again "Mind your own business Please"

Neha, 

You have a lot to learn about acceptable behaviour on public forums.  Members will and have the right to continue to correct anyone who makes an incorrect statement.  If you dont want us commenting on your business, take your business elsewhere.

you may be interested to know, I've corrected Aussiedude and he has corrected me.

each time we have researched and learnt from it.

Aussie_83 is speaking the truth, and I welcomed his guidance.   We learn from our mistakes, no one is perfect.