I am a 70 year old Australian with a 70 year old Danish partner. We are now looking at setting up permanently together in Australia, by way of applying for a partner visa, a process about which I have little knowledge. We are both financially independent.

My main concern however is the medical requirements. I have no medical issues. My partner however has been diagnosed in Denmark as having the early stages of Parkinson's disease and has some limitations to her walking due to a spinal operation.

Question: What are the chances that she would be able to pass the medical requirements ?

6 hours ago, Still kicking said:

I am a 70 year old Australian with a 70 year old Danish partner. We are now looking at setting up permanently together in Australia, by way of applying for a partner visa, a process about which I have little knowledge. We are both financially independent.

My main concern however is the medical requirements. I have no medical issues. My partner however has been diagnosed in Denmark as having the early stages of Parkinson's disease and has some limitations to her walking due to a spinal operation.

Question: What are the chances that she would be able to pass the medical requirements ?

Thank You for joining our forum.  Congratulations on your plans to relocate back to Australia.

Unfortunately, it is likely (but this is my personal opinion) that advanced Parkinson's will be easily detected during the medical, and hence will trigger further examination by the Chief Health Officer.  As you both know, Parkinson's is a degenerative condition, that will require increasing levels of medical support (hence costs) for the patient as the condition progresses. This medical support would be a cost to the Australian Taxpayer.  But the actual decision I can not predict, as there are so many factors including the age of the patient, general health, and stage of the condition.